Reflections....

Reflections....

Sunday, February 13, 2011

An Evening to Celebrate Love

Last night, I had the pleasure to be part of the 20th Anniversary Wedding party for two of my dearest friends, Piloto and Zoraida.  Yesterday, together with many of their closest friends and family, we were able to once again, see up close, that true love, friendship and committment still does exist - in spite of the overwhelming negative statistics indicating the opposite. 
As I walked in the door of their beautiful home in Coral Gables, Piloto reminded me that our trip to Italy, the first they had ever been on, had been 16 years ago.  How quickly time passes by.  And yet, there they were, as in love and committed to each other and to their family as when they first met.  They have truly become my inspiration, my measuring stick if you will, as to what it is that I'm looking for in a relationship.  People may say that I'm too picky, but I don't believe so.  I'm holding out for the real thing, and unless I can have what they have, what is the point of it all; to become another statistic?  It was a night filled with love, music (Amaury Gutierrez, Alex Ubago, Lena, Elain Morales, Alexis Valdes and so many more) were some of the guests that honored them and all the other guests with their music.

I celebrate their love for each other and hope they will be blessed with another 20 years.


Alexis Valdez, Gloria Ordaz, Lena, Elain Morales, Alex Ubago and I
Here are a few of the wonderful songs we were treated to by some of their friends:

Saturday, February 12, 2011

What a Difference...17 years make

So get this.  I woke up yesterday with the intension of looking for an old photo album I was suppose to take to work. I was going to show someone photos of a friend we had in common. When I finally found it, and began looking through it, I found a photograph that was taken 17 years ago of Raul Di Blasio and I. 

Raul Di Blasio and I - Cafe Abbracci
April 1994

For those who don't know who Raul Di Blasio is, check out this link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecJZafbsaWc . Raul Di Blasio is in town for a concert he's having this weekend in Miami (I'm going on Sunday).  In any event, I get to work, go upstairs to show my friend the picture and out of the blue he says "do you know that Raul is downtairs right now?  Come on, let's go down there and show him the pictures."  Can you believe what a coincidence that is? I had absolutely no idea or reason to think he'd be at our office yesterday.  I'm still having trouble wrapping my head around it.  Here's a picture I haven't looked at in over a decade of someone I randomly met years ago, and the very day I look at it, he suddenly appears....17 years later....Wow. What are the chances of that happening twice??  I should play the lottery this weekend. 

My friend drags me downstairs and show his PR person the pictures.  She can't believe it either.  She grabs me by the hand and takes me over to where he's sitting and shows them to him.  Of course he couldn't remember who or when or where they were taken; never thought he would.  He smiled, stood up, gave me a big hug and insisted we take another picture together because as he put it, we look so much better today.  Here it is...How are we doing for 17 years later?  
Raul Di Blasio and I, Mega TV Miami
February 11, 2011

Sunday, February 6, 2011

What a difference a year makes

So here we are again....in just a few hours, Superbowl XLV will kick off between the Steelers and the Packers.  Should be a great game and looking forward to watching it.

However, I can't help but think about where I was this time last year.  In fact, reading back on my blog, this time last year was a day packed full of "Americana" as I called it.  If you had asked me a year ago that I would be sitting here now, a 44 year old woman, once again having to enter the dating scene - I would have never believed it.  I spent last year watching the Superbowl with the man I thought was the love of my life and the last man I would ever date again. Boy was I wrong.  In fact, one year later I am back on the dating scene....just joined Match.com about two weeks ago.  I will be writing a blog about that as it deserves it's own forum, it's so hillarious, weird, interesting, fun and exciting....

We never know what is waiting for us just around the corner, good or bad.  For this reason, I truly believe more than ever, that if you're living a moment of bliss right now, in the present.....devour it, enjoy it, savour every moment of it because it may not be there again tomorrow, or the very next second for that matter.  And if you're going through a phase in your life that you'd rather not be living through, take comfort in knowing that it too shall pass as nothing is permanent. 

It intrigues me to think about where I will be a year from now....however, I won't think about it right now.  I've got a Superbowl game to watch (with my first date from Match) and that's all that matters right now.  Can't wait to see how it turns out.

Go Packers......neither one is my team but it makes it more fun to cheer one team on!!!

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Mother Nature

Today, as I came home from picking my car up at the mechanic, my neighbor walked up to me to tell me that some newborn ducklings had fallen into a stormdrain.  As most of my friends know, that's all I needed to hear.  I ran to the storm drain and tried to get a plan in action in order to rescue them.  It didn't take long before a crowd of on-lookers gathered around.  I asked one of the men to remove the cover off of the storm drain as I quickly ran home to get a loaf of  bread to see if we could get them to come out of hiding.  At the same time, the mother duck and her remaining two ducklings were circling around anxiously.  I started throwing pieces of bread into the drain hoping the ducklings would come out so we could grabe them.Sure enough, as I threw the first piece in, six tiny little ducklings appeared.  I tried grabbing one of them, but they were too fast, and as quick as can be, they hid further down inside the drain where they were impossible to catch.  I asked someone to bring the skimmer from the pool and we tried several times to no avail.  Again, they were too fast.  All of a sudden, a lightbulb went off in my head.  Why don't we call the Fire Department?  How many times have we heard and seen stories on T.V. of cats stuck up a tree or in a storm drains rescued by firefighters?  I dialed 911 non-emergency and within five minutes the fire truck, along with five or six very willing and able firefighters came to the ducklings' rescue.  They tried everything, even flooding the storm drain with water, but in the end, only managed to rescue one of the little ones.  After over an hour of trying, they eventually called it quits and were on their way.  Mama duck, anxiously circling the drain the entire time, also called it quits and went on her way, now with three little ducklings in tow.  There I sat, my heart aching for the five tiny, defenseless ducklings that I had to abandon, knowing of their pending demise.
I guess Mother Nature knows what she's doing.  There is a method and a perfect balance to her cruelty and beauty. A neighbor told me the mother duck had 19 little ducklings that hatched a few days ago.  If all were meant to survive, we would no doubt be faced with an over-population of ducks sooner than later.  Instead of the 19, only 3 will most likely survive - ensuring the survival of the species but not an over-population.  It might be perfect, but none-the-less, sad.  I'm going to have a hard time sleeping tonight.  The idea of those five little ones, scared and alon,e just breaks my heart to pieces.  As I conclude this post, almost six hours have past.  I have gone back to the storm drain on numerous occasions and tried getting them out, but nothing has worked. I just hear the little things chirping away anxiously. Night falls and with it, the scavengers are sure to emerge shortly.  Poor little, defenseless creatures....they don't have a chance.

Monday, January 24, 2011

Update on My Previous Post...Tardiness

Just a little P.S. on my previous post.  Yesterday, I was invited to a baby shower for a friend of mine.  The invitation I received said "2:00 p.m.".  Years ago I would have arrived at the event at exactly 2:00 p.m.; yesterday however, knowing my peeps, I decided to arrive "fashionably late".....or so I thought.  The surprise was on me.  I arrived at 2:40 p.m. (on purpose).  I still can't believe it myself but the majority of the guests did not arrive until about 4:00 p.m.  I even saw a few arrive at 5:00 p.m. What's wrong with this picture???  At 5:00 p.m. I was headed out the door.....so you see, it's not that I'm making this stuff up.  People think this is alright.  What do you think?

Sunday, January 9, 2011

One of my greatest pet peeves

So, I know that I am far from perfect, but if there is one thing that I take very seriously, it's being considerate about other people's time.  I don't know if I'm extra sensitive; but living here in Miami seems to give everyone "carte blanche" to be inconsiderate just because as they say, it's the "Latino way."  I seem to spend most of my time waiting for everything and everyone. 

Since when is being Latin or Hispanic a God given right to be disrespectful or inconsiderate of others?  I was born in Latin America, I grew up there, why can I tell time and they can't?



Being "fashionably late" has always been the norm; however, here in Miami, fashionably late seems to take on a meaning all it's own.  How can anyone plan any social event, make an appointment, plan a wedding, anything for that matter, if 95% of the population thinks there is absolutely nothing wrong in showing up to a 7:00 p.m. invitation at 10:00 p.m.?  With that mentality, throwing a suprise party is out of the question.  Why do people think it's ok for others to just sit back and wait for a person to show up when they feel like it?  Mind you, there's never a good reason.  It's not like they get a flat tire or their child is sick; nothing like that. The plain and simple reason is that they couldn't care less about what the person on the other end might have planned.  In the age where most people have at least one phone, if not two, they don't feel the need to let others know how late they will be, or in some cases, if they plan to show up at all.  R.S.V.P.'s - what a joke!!  If they R.S.V.P. "yes", they don't show up; if they don't bother to R.S.V.P., they just simply show up in a heard, and don't think there's anything wrong with that either. 

I don't know about the rest of the State, the rest of the country, or the rest of the world for that matter, but civility here in Miami is dead.  It just doesn't exist.  Take me for instance.  I had an appointment with someone to come to my house and remove some cabinets yesterday afternoon.  An hour before, I called to confirm and got no answer.  I sent a text which was answered at the exact time when the person should have in fact been at the appointment, indicating they would not be able to make.  They re-scheduled for today.  Today's appointment has come and gone, no call, no answer to my calls - nothing.  I have sat here for two days waiting, yet this person didn't think it necessary to make me privy of his intentions of not showing up.  This drives me insane.  Why?  Why should I have to tolerate this?  Why can't people put themselves in the other person's shoes to see their time is just as valuable as everyone else's?

I believe most people around me end up thinking "if you can't beat them, join them".  It's hard being the only fish swimming upstream all the time.  I just can't seem to do the same.  If you see someone jump off a bridge, are you going to jump off as well?  Or is it simply that this is what the future holds - communities & civilizations with no civility whatsoever?

If that's the case, then I'll gladly stay behind.  I want to live in a society where "please" and "thank you" are the norm and not the exception.

Friday, December 31, 2010

Gratitude for the things in my life

"He is a wise man who does not grieve for the things which he has not, but rejoices for those which he has." - Epictetus

I believe we often put too much pressure on ourselves this time of year. We make a list of "resolutions", things we hope to change, improve upon or eliminate altogether in the New Year. Unfortunately, we know all too well that most of us fail miserably at most, if not all of them. We set ourselves up for dissappointment from the get-go. In an effort not to begin the New Year on the wrong foot, instead, I'd like to make a list of things that I'm greatful for in my life. We're surrounded by so much negativity most of the time, it's hard to take stock in all the things that we have in our lives that we can be greatful for. Sure, I know I'm human, and as such, I have flaws and far from perfect, but if I really think about it, there is so much more good than bad. So here goes:
  1. New beginnings.  Every day that I am here I have the opportunity to start over, to change, to grow, to renew myself.
  2. Being at peace.
  3. The love and continued support of my family and friends.
  4. My health.
  5. My dogs and all of the funny and loving things they do each and every day.  How they teach me unconditional love and how to live in the moment.
  6. How every day I touch the lives of the people around me, and I do make a difference.
  7. My house.  Especially this year when so many others lost theirs.
  8. My car.  It may be old, but it hasn't let me down yet.  There are so many others that don't have the luxury of a car to get from place to place.
  9. My morning cup of coffee, as the sun comes up, listening to the birds singing in the trees as the wind chimes blow.  It always brings a smile to my face.
  10. When a friend looks at me and says, "I love you".
  11. Music.
  12. Hope.
  13. Nature, trees, flowers, animals and the fact that I am able to enjoy them each and every day.
  14. The food on my table.
  15. Fresh, running water.
  16. My ability to still be able to empathize with people, in spite of some very negative experiences I've had to live through.
  17. When I realize that I am not all alone as I sometimes think I am. Instead, I am surrounded by people that love me and am finally rid of the people that don't have my best interests at heart.
  18. The joy I get seeing the first bud come out of the ground from the seeds I've planted, then watching them grow and thrive.
  19. How good it feels to lay my head down on my pillow at the end of a long day.
  20. That I'm slowly learing that nothing is permanent - both good and bad so I should try to enjoy the good to the fullest, and take comfort that the bad soon shall pass.
"If the only prayer you ever say in your entire life is thank you, it will be enough." - Meister Eckhardt 



Thursday, December 30, 2010

Reflections on a year gone by....

I woke up a few moments ago after tossing and turning all night long unable to sleep.  I've been doing so for the past couple of days.  There's a certain restlessness I haven't quite been able to pinpoint.  I believe it may have something to do with the fact that this year, 2010, is one day from coming to a close.  Most of the time, on the last few days of the year, most of us are too busy making plans for the parties we're going to attend, cleaning up after the Christmas chaos and some, like me, trying to come up with a few New Year's resolutions - I'll be trying to do that shortly.  However, I think my restlessness comes from trying to make sense of what has turned out to be one of the most difficult years I can remember having had in a long time.  I would like to reflect for a moment, try to put things into perspective, if possible, and see what are some of the life lessons I need to learn, in order that I can move on, grow and be at peace in my heart, maybe becoming just a little wiser along the way.

The old saying "when it rains it pours" comes to mind when describing the year I've had.  Like thousands of other Floridians, my years started off on the unemployment line, one of the states hardest hit by the recent recession, followed by having to say goodbye to one of my companions, Cody. I believe Cody was an angel trying to disguise himself as a dog.  He came into my life when he was almost two years old after having been surrendered to the animal shelter twice.  I remember the day I adopted him like it was yesterday.  He stole my heart the minute I saw him in the cage as he jumped towards me, put one paw on each of my shoulders giving me a hug and a big kiss. He continued doing so every single day for the next eight years.  He brought me so much joy, showed me the meaning of pure, unconditional love each and every moment we were together, managed to give me his fair share of headaches, which only made him seem that much more human.  I miss our morning hugs, the twinkle in his eyes, his gentle soul.  Years earlier, when I first adopted him, someone gave me a present - "A Dog's Prayer".  There was never a moment when I read the last paragraph that I didn't cry like a baby (just as I'm doing right now).

"And beloved master, should the great Master see fit to deprive me of my health, do not turn me away from you. Rather, hold me gently in your arms as skilled hands grant me the merciful boon of eternal rest - and I will leave you knowing with the last breath I drew, my fate was ever safest in your hands."

At the time, I never stopped to imagine what it would feel like the day I would actually have to say goodbye to one of my own.  Those last few moments driving him to the vet late that night, knowing I would be driving home alone, knowing he had placed all of his trust and faith in me to do the right thing, were some of the most difficult in my life.  I'm proud to say I did the right thing in spite of the unbearable pain and sorrow I felt that night.  I sat down on the floor, lay him on my lap as I held him in my arms, wrapped him in his favorite blanket and looked into his eyes. I told him how much I loved him, how much better my life had been because of him, how much I was going to miss him and that I would carry him in my heart every day of my life. I did this over and over again as he slowly closed his eyes and took his last breath in my arms.  My heart broke that night, May 10, 2010. It happened to be Mother's Day and one day before my birthday.  He had been so brave, fighting his kidney disease for over a year, probably more for me than for him.  A year earlier, on the day of his diagnosis, I swore that together we would fight the good fight but I would never allow myself to keep him here with me if he was going to be in any sort of pain.  I hope he's looking down on me now and he's proud that I was able to live up to that promise, even though it was the hardest thing I ever had to do. 
"CODY"
In Loving Memory
Always and Forever in My Heart
1998 - 2010

The silver lining, if there can ever be such a thing after something like this (for us animals lovers I mean, as I'm sure you non-animal lovers are cringing in disbelief) is that I was able to finally get a job.  I was able to keep busy working with people I care about and doing something I enjoy.  Of course, things didn't remain that way for long. 

My best friend, my partner, my lover for ten years decided to send me an email after a recent trip to see his daughters, to let me know that he didn't wish to continue our relationship anymore.  How's that for the icing on the cake!!!??  It's bad enough your heart gets broken, but in an email????  I admit things had been very bad for a while, but nobody with an ounce of integrity spends ten years making promises and then, after not living up to a single one, doesn't have the decency to look you in the face, like a true man and end things in person. This is a person whom for ten years I gave the benefit of the doubt to, in spite of all the signs, of the "I'm warning you, he's lying" of my own gut. I  trusted him completely, I believed he was looking out for both of our best interests. It turns out he had only one agenda - his needs, his desires, his dreams and those of his family and his "so-called ex".  To my surprise, as I write this, he's already back together and vacationing in New Orleans and as one big, happy family.  How many people do you know that go on vacation with their "ex's"?  My sentiments exactly.  It seems the "ex" part of the story was only for my benefit.  So much for being a man of honesty and integrity (his favorite words to use when describing himself).  For months and months I began to question my own sanity, as my heart wanted to believe one thing and my gut continued telling me something else.  Through it all, I still wanted to believe in this person whom, for ten years, stuck to his story, in spite of breaking one promise after another with no remorse whatsoever.  Every few months there was another perfectly good explanation or reason why his "promises" had to change - and I had no right to ask any questions.  "You don't have to understand my reasons, just accept them" (another one of his favorite remarks to me).  After months, no, years of questions and fighting, he no longer had a good enough reason to justify his actions.  His web of lies and deceit were unraveling.  So instead, he had the audacity to throw the typical accusations my way:  you're insecure, jealous, paranoid and even went as far as to call me negative, sick and crazy.  I heard this so much, I actually began believing I was.  I began not trusting myself, my thoughts, my behavior, my actions.  How do you NOT turn into all those things when the person you trust most on earth BETRAYS you in such a way and at the same time can look at you straight in the eyes, at your very weakest, and lie to you - over and over and over again without flinching??  Everyone has a breaking point and I finally, after ten years of believing, having faith, trusting him, reached mine.  Actions speak louder than words and his spoke volumes.  They pointed out everything I always suspected and felt.  Who's the crazy one now?  How do you live with yourself when you lie to everyone you say you care about; your children, your girlfriend, your "ex"?   What a shallow life that must be.  How can someone keep up the sharade for so long?  He said he got tired of the questions....I would like to say, I think he got tired of the web of lies he created.  There's only so many hours in a day and living a double life has to be exhausting.

To have loved someone so much, trusted so completely and been betrayed in the manner I was leaves me wondering at the very least, how will I ever trust again?  If there is such a thing as self preservation and instinct, where was mine all of these years that I could not see it, and if I did see it, why did I choose to ignore it?  Why was believing his lies more important than trusting myself?  That is what hurts most of all. The truth is, it's like he said, "I didn't put a gun to your head" in order that I believe all the lies...I did that all on my own.  Hearts and dreams get broken everyday.  How we use those experiences, those lessons, is what is most important of all.  Some people choose to become victims/martyrs and ask themselves over and over again, "why me?".  I'll be honest here, I did. Then you go through the rage, anger and bitterness phase.  We all do - shock, disbelief, anger and then hopefully acceptance and finally moving on. Unfortunately, some people are never able to quite move on, the rage, the anger and the bitterness consumes them and they shut themselves off from loving or connecting with others, never able to move on. I have to be honest, I went through all of the different phases, sometimes more than once and in no particular order I might add.  But I don't want to be one of those people that gets stuck.  I want to love again, believe in the goodness of people again and I feel confident that I will have all of those things again, in due time.  Just because I've made some very poor decisions in the past, doesnt mean I will always make them.  At least I hope not. 

I will be honest in saying that there is still a lot of hurt, anger and bitterness towards him but I know I have to let it go.  I don't want to consider that the last ten years were wasted years, there were a lot of good moments.  However, the longer I hold on to the anger, the hate, the bitterness, the more of my precious time is being consumed over someone that doesn't deserve a single thought or second of my life and all the goodness that I have to give wasted on him.
So here I am, two days before the end of this year filled with loss, pain and heartache.  I am closing the book on it all.  I am opening my heart and my soul to ALL of life's blessings and possibilities, knowing that I am well deserving of them all.

I wish all of you a Healthy, Happy and Prosperous New Year 2011.  I know in my heart that it's going to be a great year!!!



Monday, February 8, 2010

A day of true "Americana"

I woke up yesterday, completely unaware of what an unforgettable day was in store. My only real plan was to watch the Superbowl.  As everyone else in America, I was looking forward to an incredible game and hoping the Saints would bring home the Vince Lombardi trophy to New Orleans - a city well deserving of good news and celebration.

Being Superbowl week, Miami had been filled with hundreds of activities all around town, and I am ashamed to say I had not made it to a single one. However, the week was not yet over.

For those of us that don't necessarily enjoy standing among hundreds of half naked bodies at some free concert on South Beach, or attend a high fashion, all star-party for $1,000 a pop (not that I was invited), there were still some events in and around town that didn't revolve around the big game. One of those events was American Chronicles: The Art of Norman Rockwell at the Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale. My boyfriend and I had made a previous attempt to see it back in November when it first opened. We drove up to Fort Lauderdale, only to find out the museum was closed on Mondays. Although disappointed, we knew we'd have plenty of opportunities to come back.  Not so. 

It was 3:30 p.m. on Sunday, the last day of the exhibit, when we walked up to the museum only to find the line for tickets was almost around the block and with only 2 hours before the museum shut the doors. Having driven so far, we decided to give it a shot and wait to see if we'd have enough time to buy tickets, see the exhibit and drive back to Miami in time for Superbowl kick-off at 6:30 p.m.  I am thrilled we tried!!

Before yesterday, I really didn't know much about Norman Rockwell.  I had seen a few covers from The Saturday Evening Post which he became famous for and always found them charming. After yesterday's exhibit, however, I am now intrigued about his work and definitely intend to learn more about him. I found the exhibit to be just what the critics have written about him through the years, Norman Rockwell has a way of painting the reality of daily life in America in a somewhat idyllic way. His attention to the smallest detail; his unique way of telling a story and drawing the viewer into the picture and into the story are synonymous of his work. He represents American society in the 20th Century as "idyllic". Just a minute sampling of the hundreds of paintings I was fortunate enough to see.







It was now 6:15 p.m. when we headed back towards Miami. Obviously we were not going to make it home in time for kick off, but driving right by the stadium, we managed to see the fighter jets fly right above us - incredible!!

The entire world knows the final score of the game.  It was an unbelievable game. Both teams gave it their all and I really don't think anyone lost the game.  The Saints wanted and needed it more.  Of course it didn't hurt that they probably had almost the entire country pulling for them!!! Tomorrow should be an unforgettable homecoming and what a great kick-off to next week's Mardi Gras.

As if the day's events hadn't been exciting enough. After the game, my boyfriend began surfing the channels and came across the NASA channel. Don't ask me how, but one minute I was cleaning up our Superbowl snacks, and the next minute, 12:15 a.m. to be exact, I was packing up empanadas, my camera and my dog Cody.  We had decided to drive up to the Kennedy Space Center to try and see the Shuttle Endeavor take off on its last nightime launch before the space shuttle program is cancelled. Lift off was at 4:14 a.m.

We arrived at the Kennedy Space Center at 3:40 a.m.  As I write this, I still can't believe we actually did it.  What's more, I can't believe that I was fortunate enough to see something so incredible in my lifetime.  I really can't find the words to describe it.  You read all about it, you see it on t.v. but nothing can prepare you for that moment - "we have lift off".  The entire night sky lights up before your eyes as you watch a giant fire ball rise up into the sky above you and then disappears. It is something everyone should see at least once in their lifetime.  After seeing such an incredible sight, I'm sad to know that there are only 4 more shuttle missions left before the program is cancelled, and as of today, no other program to take it's place.

The launch itself took only a few minutes, but the memories will be engraved in my mind for the rest of my life.

In the last 24 hours I have experienced the best of America and what makes this country great - art, sports and space discovery!!!  What a truly blessed day it was.




Sunday, February 7, 2010